Transition in tension. Controversies and tensions around ecological transitions - program and invitation

Andrea Catellani's picture
Event Dates: 
December 16, 2021 to December 17, 2021
Online and in Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium


We are pleased to announce the program of the conference

"Transitions in tension. Controversies around ecological transitions",

which will take place on 16 and 17 December 2021, both online and in face-to-face at UCLouvain, Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium.

The program is here:

The conference website (in French, English and Spanish), for information and registration:

You are invited!

In case of health problems, the conference will be entirely online. Registrations is free of charges but compulsory; it can be made on the conference website. The links for remote connections via Teams to the different sessions will be sent before the conference to those registered. The papers will be in French with some English speaking sessions.

We want to question the discourses and communicational phenomena linked to ecological and energy transitions - we explicitly use the plural to indicate the complexity of the object in question. The polemical dimension of the communication surrounding the transitions - controversies, polemics, discussions, debates - and which mobilizes verbal language and any other type of semiotic device (notably images, both still and moving), is in particular the focus of attention. More than 30 speakers will contribute on these themes.

We want to involve researchers who analyze these phenomena with scientific tools from the humanities and social sciences. Our focus is primarily on information and communication sciences, but we also pay special attention to interdisciplinary projects or projects at the border between different disciplines.

Keynote speakers:

Edwin Zaccai (Université Libre de Bruxelles)

Francis Chateauraynaud (EHESS, Paris)

Markku Lehtonen (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain).

Please distribute the program and the invitation to register.

Andrea Catellani for the conference organising committee (Céline Pascual Espuny, Grégoire Lits, Catherine Gauthier, Anne Gagnebien and David Domingo)