Environmental Communication

Official journal of the International Environmental Communication Association

Cover of the journal

Published By: Routledge
Frequency: 8 issues per year
Print ISSN: 1752-4032
Online ISSN: 1752-4040

Publisher's web site


Current calls for papers

Instructions for authors

Online submissons


Members of the IECA can subscribe to Environmental Communication at the following discounted rates. You'll get 8 new issues per year and access to all back issues!

  • Standard Online Journal: US$30
  • Standard Online + Paper Journal: US$45
  • Lower Income Country Online Journal: US$15
  • Lower Income Country Online + Paper Journal: US$30

Join the IECA to receive these discounted subscription rates.

About the Journal

Environmental Communication is an international, peer-reviewed forum for multidisciplinary research and analysis assessing the many intersections among communication, media, society, and environmental issues. These include but are not limited to debates over climate change, natural resources, sustainability, conservation, wildlife, ecosystems, water, environmental health, food and agriculture, energy, and emerging technologies. Submissions should contribute to our understanding of scientific controversies, political developments, policy solutions, institutional change, cultural trends, media portrayals, public opinion and participation, and/or professional decisions. Articles often seek to bridge gaps between theory and practice, and are written in a style that is broadly accessible and engaging.

Types of Submission

Research Article (6– 8,000 words): Original empirical research or new scholarly analysis of significant scope and breadth.

Advanced Review (6– 8,000 words): Comprehensive synthesis and review of research and developments of interdisciplinary significance, highlighting future directions for research, analysis, and/or professional practice.

Research Insight (2– 3,000 words): Original empirical research or new scholarly analysis smaller in scope than a full research article, often providing insight on recent or emerging debates and trends , and/or a novel social, professional, or country context.

Commentary (2– 3,000 words): Expert commentary evaluating recent research findings, professional practices, issues, and/or societal trends and decisions; timely in nature and peer-reviewed.

Review Essay (2– 3,000 words): Modeled after articles at The New York Review of Books, review essays offer a critical evaluation, synthesis, and discussion of 3 or more recent books, documentary films, and/or exhibits analyzing main arguments, conclusions, and common or contrasting themes including elements related to promotion, impact, and reception. Not subject to peer-review.

Abstracting & Indexing

Environmental Communication is now listed in: Communication Abstracts, Social Sciences Citation Index ©, Current Contents / Social and Behavioural Science ® and EBSCO

Open Access Option

Members of the International Environmental Communication Association (IECA) are eligible for a 30% discount on the standard fee (APC) for publishing their article Gold Open Access. Please email apc@tandf.co.uk with your IECA membership number if you would like to choose this option.

Editorial Team


Shirley Ho, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Associate Editors

  • Silje Kristiansen, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, USA
  • Chen Liang, Sun Yat-Sen University, China
  • Senja Post, University of Goettingen, Germany
  • Tsung-Jen Shih, National Chengchi University, Taiwan
  • Ross Singer, Saginaw Valley State University, USA
  • Bruno Takahashi , Michigan State University, USA
  • Janet Yang, University at Buffalo, USA

Editorial Board

  • Lee Ahern, Penn State University, USA
  • Stuart Allan,  Cardiff University, UK
  • Alison Anderson, Plymouth University, UK
  • Lucy Atkinson, University of Texas-Austin, USA
  • Joshua Trey Barnett, University of Minnesota, USA
  • John Besley, Michigan State University, USA
  • Peter Berglez, Örebro University, Sweden
  • Andrew Binder, North Carolina State University, USA
  • Max Boykoff, University of Colorado, USA
  • Pete Bsumek, James Madison University, USA
  • Michael Cacciatore, University of Georgia, USA
  • Anabela Carvalho, Universidade do Minho, Portugal
  • Geoffrey Craig, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand
  • Michael Dahlstrom, University of Iowa, USA
  • Stephen Depoe, University of Cincinnati, USA
  • Julie Doyle, University of Brighton, UK
  • Sharon Dunwoody, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • Danielle Endres, University of Utah, USA
  • Declan Fahy, Dublin City University, Ireland
  • Lauren Feldman, Rutgers University, USA
  • Carrie Freeman, Georgia State University, USA
  • Timothy Fung, Hong Kong Baptist University, China
  • Neil Gavin, University of Liverpool, UK
  • Jennifer Good, Brock University, Canada
  • Mike Goodman, University of Reading, UK
  • Anders Hansen, University of Leicester, UK
  • Luis Hestres, University of Texas-San Antonio, USA
  • Jill Hopke, Depaul University, USA
  • Candice Howarth, University of Surrey, UK
  • Brett Hutchins, Monash University, Australia
  • Sei-Hill Kim, University of South Carolina, USA
  • John Kotcher, George Mason University, USA
  • Nelya Koteyko, Queen Mary University of London, UK
  • Adrianne Kroepsch, Colorado School of Mines, USA
  • Laura Lindenfeld, Stony Brook University, USA
  • Julian Matthews, University of Leicester, UK
  • Katherine McComas, Cornell University, USA
  • Lyn McGaurr, University of Tasmania, Australia
  • Tema Milstein, University of New Mexico, USA
  • Susanne Moser, Stanford University, USA
  • Todd Norton, Washington State University, USA
  • Ulrika Olausson, Jönköping University, Sweden
  • Saffron O'Neill, University of Exeter, UK
  • Jennifer Peeples, Utah State University, USA
  • Phaedra Pezzullo,  University of Colorado-Boulder, USA
  • Louise Phillips, Roskilde University, Denmark
  • Laura Rickard, University of Maine, USA
  • Anna Roosvall, Stockholm University, Sweden
  • Juliet Roper, University of Waikato, New Zealand
  • Connie Roser-Renouf, George Mason University, USA
  • Chris Russill, Carlton University, Canada
  • Mike S. Schäfer, University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • Dietram Schefuele, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • James Shanahan, Indiana University, USA
  • Catherine Simpson, Macquarie University, Australia
  • Hollie Smith, University of Oregon, USA
  • Leona Su, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagne, USA
  • JT Thaker, Massey University, New Zealand
  • Bruce Tranter, University of Tasmania, Australia
  • Barb Willard, DePaul University, USA
  • Xiaodong Yang, Shandong University, China
  • Sara K. Yeo, University of Utah, USA

Previous Editors-in-Chief

  • Stephen Depoe, 2007-2012, Volumes 1-6
  • Alison Anderson, 2013-2016, Volumes 7-10
  • Matthew Nisbet, 2017-2019, Volumes 11-13