Creating the IECA

Many people helped make the IECA a reality. Some had been talking about the idea since 2008.

In the Fall of 2009 a task force was struck and a call went out for volunteers. For the next year, the task force worked on conceptualizing the association. Research was done into potential constituencies, a strategic plan was developed and other groundwork was laid.The initial task force included the following people:

  • Lee Ahern, Penn State University, USA
  • Alison Anderson,  University of Plymouth, UK
  • Anabela Carvalho, Universidade do Minho, Portugal
  • Tigere Chagutah, Heinrich Boell Foundation, South Africa
  • Joseph Clark, Florida State University, USA
  • Steve Depoe, University of Cincinnati, USA
  • Julie Doyle, University of Brighton, UK
  • Annika Egan Sjölander, Umeå university, Sweden
  • Jaime Manuel Flores, Ateneo de Manila University, Phillipines
  • Jennifer Good, Brock University, Canada
  • Anders Hansen, University of Leicester, UK
  • Libby Lester, University of Tasmania, Australia
  • Laura Lindenfeld, University of Maine, USA
  • Anne Mareck, USA
  • Mark Meisner, State University of New York, USA
  • Bernardo Motta, Bridgewater College, USA
  • Ana Claudia (Ana) Nepote, México
  • Todd Norton, Washington State University, USA
  • Jennifer Peeples, Utah State University, USA
  • Nils Peterson, North Carolina State University, USA
  • Emily Plec, Western Oregon University, USA
  • Chris Russill, Carleton University, Canada
  • Stacey Sowards, University of Texas at El Paso, USA
  • Nadarajah Sriskandarajah, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden
  • Richard Stanton, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Anne Marie Todd, San José State University, USA
  • Héctor Villaverde, Uruguay
  • Travis Wagner, University of Southern Maine, USA

In the spring of 2010 a number of people who were gathered for a symposium at the University of Maine (see clipping) used the opportunity to significantly advance the work of the task force.


In the fall of 2010 a launch team was formed to take what the task force had proposed and move it forward, putting the association into place. During the winter and spring of 2011 a web site was created, the association was launched and elections were held, resulting in the first Board of Directors.

The Launch Team consisted of the followig people, working in groups on specific aspects of the launch:

Organizational Working Group:

  • Tracy Marafiote (chair) Assistant Professor, Department of Communication,SUNY, Fredonia
  • Jennifer Hamilton Visiting Asst Professor, Rhetoric Department, Wabash College
  • Lisa Leombruni Doctoral Student, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Soenke Lorenzen Media Analyst, Greenpeace International
  • Cindy Spurlock Assistant Professor, Department of Communication, Appalachian State University
  • Nadarajah “Sri” Sriskandarajah Professor, Department of Rural and Urban Development, Swedish University of Agricultural Science, Uppsala


  • Steven Depoe (chair) Professor, Communication, University of Cincinnati
  • Laura Lindenfeld Associate Professor, Department of Communication & Journalism and the Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center, University of Maine


  • Emily Plec (co-chair) Associate Professor, Communication Studies, Western Oregon University
  • Anabela Carvalho (co-chair) Associate Professor, Department of Communication Sciences, University of Minho, Braga, Portugal
  • Jennifer Good (co-chair) Associate Professor, Department of Communication, Popular Culture and Film, Brock University, Canada
  • Bernardo Motta (co-chair) Assistant Professor, Communication Studies, Bridgewater College


  • Brendan Watson (chair) Graduate student, School of Journalism & Mass Communication, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Mark Meisner Assistant Professor, Environmental Studies, SUNY-ESF
  • Jonathan M. Gray Associate Professor, Speech Communication, Southern Illinois
  • Keally DeWitt Graduate student, communication, University of Cincinnati
  • Joshua Barnett Undergraduate student, Department of Speech Communication, University of Georgia

At the Conference on Communication and Environment in El Paso, Texas in June, the association was formalized and officers were chosen. Shortly after that, Mark Meisner was contracted to be the Executive Director.

A special thank you goes to Brendan Watson of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for all his work on the initial IECA web site. And no doubt there are others who are not mentioned here, but who should be. Thanks to everyone who helped make IECA a reality.