Picture of a small girl wearing a sign that says "We can be heroes just for one day," a quote from David BowieStanding Committees

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee shall consist of the four Officers of the Board and be Chaired by the Board Chair. The Committee shall be responsible for acting on behalf of the Board to deal with urgent matters between Board meetings, reporting the details to the rest of the Board, and for negotiating terms and compensation with the Executive Director.

  • Franzisca Weder, Chair
  • Gabi Mocatta, Vice-Chair
  • Barb Willard, Treasurer
  • Mira Rochyadi-Reetz, Secretary

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee shall be responsible for assisting the Board in developing criteria for selecting nominees and for recruiting, screening, and presenting candidates both for election, and for appointment in the case of at-large members. The Committee shall assist in conducting elections.

  • Gabi Mocatta, Chair
  • Mark Meisner (ex officio)

Outreach Committee

The Outreach Committee shall undertake various forms of communication and outreach to the public. This includes promoting the association generally, recruiting new members, and international networking.

  • Michaeleen Gallagher, Chair
  • Tadesse Amera Sahilu
  • Leonor Solis
  • Mark Meisner (ex officio)

Conference Committee

The Conference Committee shall assist the Executive Director in soliciting and selecting hosts for the Conference on Communication and Environment (COCE). It shall work with the host and Executive Director to plan and organize the conference.

  • Barb Willard, Chair
  • Hanna Morris
  • Jen Rae
  • Samantha Senda-Cook
  • Bruno Takahashi
  • Franzisca Weder
  • Anke Wonneberger
  • Mark Meisner (ex officio)

Research Committee

The Research Committee shall assist the publisher in selecting the Editor of the Association’s journal and in developing the aims and scope of the journal. The committee shall explore and support other research and publication opportunities consistent with the mission of the Association.

  • Open, Chair
  • Steve Depoe
  • Mark Meisner (ex officio)

Development Committee

The Development Committee shall be responsible for generating income for the Association through fundraising and other appropriate means, for both general operations and specific projects and programs.

  • Sibo Chen, C0-Chair
  • Erica Pulley Co-Chair
  • Steve Depoe
  • Michaeleen Gallagher
  • Etsuko Kinefuchi
  • Soenke Lorenzen
  • Gabi Mocatta
  • Dara Wald
  • Sean Williams
  • Mark Meisner (ex officio)

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee shall establish and implement awards programs for environmental communication accomplishments, by members or non-members, that may include research, teaching, practice and other activities that are relevant to the mission of the Association.

  • Jennifer Good, Chair
  • Carrie Freeman
  • Hanna Morris

  • Emma Bloomfield

  • Mark Meisner (ex officio)

Ad-Hoc Committees

Climate Negotiations Working Group

  • Gregg Walker, Chair
  • Mark Meisner (ex officio)

Educator Fellows Committee

  • Steve Depoe, Mentor
  • Michaeleen Gallagher
  • Jill Hopke
  • Jason Ludden
  • Maggie Siebert
  • Kenneth Yang
  • Mark Meisner (ex officio)

Diversity Committee

  • Anke Wonneberger, Co-Chair
  • Jen Rae, Co-Chair
  • Nik Norma Nik Hasan
  • Hanna Morris
  • Mira Rochyadi-Reetz
  • Leonor Solis
  • Jeremy John Escobar Torio
  • Mark Meisner (ex officio)


Photo by Jessica Podraza on Unsplash