Board of Directors

International Environmental Communication Association Board of Directors for 2013-2015

CHAIR: Lee Ahern (2011-2013 as Vice Chair, and 2013-2015 as Chair), Ph.D., Assistant Professor, College of Communications; Senior Research Fellow, Arthur W. Page Center for Integrity in Public Communication, Penn State University (USA)

VICE CHAIR: Vacant (2013-2015 as Vice Chair, and 2015-2017 as Chair)

TREASURER: Jen Schneider (2013-2017)

SECRETARY: Anders Hansen (2011-2015), Senior Lecturer, Department of Media and Communication, University of Leicester (UK); Founding Chair, Environment, Science and Risk Communication Group, IAMCR


COCE HOSTS (shared board seat): Harrison Carpenter / Dale Miller (2013-2015)

Anabela Carvalho (2011-2015), Ph.D.; Department of Communication Sciences, University of Minho, Braga (Portugal); Co-founder and Vice-Chair, Science and Environment Communication Section, ECREA (European Communication Research and Education Association

Julie Doyle (2011-2015), Ph.D., Principal Lecturer in Media and Communication Studies, School of Arts and Media, University of Brighton (UK); Co-founder and Vice-Chair of the Science and Environment Communication Section, European Communication Research and Education Association (ECREA)

Soenke Lorenzen (2011-2015), Media Analyst, Greenpeace International (Netherlands)

Gisele Neuls (2013-2015), Master in Communication and Information; member of Environmental Journalism Research Groups at Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil); editor at Canal Rural, an agribusiness television channel.

Stacey K. Sowards (2013-2017), Ph.D., Associate Professor & Research Fellow, Department of Communication, Sam Donaldson Center for Communication, University of Texas at El Paso (USA)

Nadarajah Sriskandarajah (2013-2017), PhD, Professor of Environmental Communication, Dept of Urban and Rural Development, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences , Uppsala (Sweden)

The role of the IECA Board of Directors is described in the organizational by-laws. Elected board members serve staggered four-year terms. Appointed members serve two-year terms.