You are here

Board of Directors

The role of the IECA Board of Directors is described in the organizational by-laws. Elected board members serve staggered four-year terms. Appointed members serve two-year terms. The Elections page has the latest information on Board elections.

Richard J. Doherty

Term: 2015-2019
Adjunct Professor
New England College, Henniker, NH
United States

As an environmentalist and environmental communication scholar my work on the board will be cooperative and will encourage members to volunteer a little time. I have an ethical commitment to help avert the environmental crises and injustice people face in the world today, and I see working with... Read more

Samantha Senda-Cook

Term: 2017-2021
Associate Professor
Creighton University
United States

As the Vice-Chair of the International Environmental Communication Association (IECA), I would like to help “foster effective and inspiring communication that alleviates environmental issues and conflicts, and solves the problems that cause them.” Because I valued the idea of the IECA, I joined... Read more

Clive Tesar

Term: September 2016-September 2018
Clive Tesar Consulting

I've worked across much of the communications spectrum over the years, as a researcher, a journalist, a consultant, and then head of communication in a large international NGO. during the early part of my career I was aware that there was research on communication, but didn't know much beyond... Read more

Barb Willard

Term: 2018-2020
Associate Professor
Communication Studies, DePaul University
United States

Prof. Willard’s research focuses on environmental communication.  She examines the rhetoric of landscapes as they are both read by and created by humans. Most recently she has been exploring how the transformation of blighted urban areas into farms and community gardens become symbolic sites of... Read more

Matthew C. Nisbet

Journal Editor
Term: 2017-19
Associate Professor
Northeastern University
United States

Matthew Nisbet is professor of communication at Northeastern University, editor-in-chief of the journal Environmental Communication and a founding senior editor at ORE Climate Science. Nisbet studies the role of journalists, advocates, and experts in shaping debates over science, technology, and... Read more

Jennifer Good

Elected Member
Term: 2015-2019
Associate Professor
Brock University

JENNIFER GOOD is an Associate Professor of Communication, Popular Culture, and Film at Brock University (St. Catharines, Canada)

Jennifer Good’s research and teaching interests sit at the intersections between the mediated communication, materialism and our relationship with the natural... Read more

Gabriele Hadl

Elected Member
Term: 2015-2019
Associate Professor
Kwansei Gakuin University, School of Sociology

I have received my education on three continents, and am now a permanent resident of Japan. My parents loved scuba diving and made their own media (amateur underwater films), but it took me surprisingly long to identify as an environmental communication scholar. My previous fields include film... Read more

Hanna E. Morris

Appointed Member
Term: December 2017-December 2019
Doctoral student
Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania
United States

Hanna E. Morris is a doctoral student at the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania. At Annenberg, Hanna is researching the... Read more

Hollie Smith

Appointed Member
Term: 2016-2018
Assistant Professor
University of Rhode Island
United States

As an Assistant Professor at the University of Rhode Island, Hollie works primarily with the public relations program, teaching courses that will help our graduates enter the field as communication professionals. Prior to working in the Ocean State, she lived in Maine while getting her PhD as a... Read more

Geo Takach

Elected Member
Term: 2017–2021
Associate Professor
Royal Roads University

I am delighted to belong to the IECA as a founding member and volunteer, working for and alongside a remarkable band of scholars and practitioners. Beyond prof-dom, I am a veteran writer, filmmaker, workshop leader, speaker and lifelong learner. As an environmental communicator, I aim to shed... Read more

Susan Assy Tumuhairwe

Elected Member
Term: 2017-2021
Communications Officer
World Wide Fund for Nature


I am currently working with World Wide Fund, Uganda Country Office as a Communications Officer. I am fairly new in the field of environment professionally but have always been passionate about environmental issues. Before I joined WWF, I had already been involved in various campaigns... Read more

Nancy Van Leuven

Elected Member
Term: 2017-2021
Assistant Professor, MCJ Department
California State University Fresno
United States

As a new board member, I'm excited to join IECA's great work during this turbulent time in environmental communication and especially hope to help increase partnerships!  Most of my work has been in marketing and community development with public and private groups ranging from the International... Read more

Ruben Zondervan

Elected Member
Term: 2017-2019
Executive Director
Earth System Governance Project

Ruben Zondervan is Executive Director of the Earth System Governance Project. He is based at the International Project Office hosted by Lund University, Sweden.

Ruben Zondervan is a specialist in international social science research management and science-policy. He is experienced in... Read more

User login

Contact Us

Have questions? Want to give us feedback? You can reach IECA headquarters with all questions and comments using our contact form.


Media inquires | Major gifts

Help / FAQ

Network with The IECA


Follow us on RSS

Join our mailing list

Become a member

One-page flyer